Standards Database Logo
Home | Browse | Search | Purpose | History | Process | Acknowledgment| Reference



List of Benchmarks for Health

Standard 6.Understands essential concepts about nutrition and diet
  Level Pre-K (Grade Pre-K)
   1. Knows that some foods are more nutritious than others
  Level I (Grade K-2)
   1. Classifies foods and food combinations according to the food groups
  Level II (Grade 3-5)
   1. Knows the nutritional value of different foods
   2. Knows healthy eating practices (e.g., eating a nutritious breakfast, eating a variety of foods, eating nutritious meals and snacks at regular intervals to satisfy individual energy and growth needs)
   3. Knows factors that influence food choices (e.g., activity level, peers, culture, religion, advertising, time, age, health, money/economics, convenience, environment, status, personal experience)
   4. Knows how food-preparation methods and food-handling practices affect the safety and nutrient quality of foods
  Level III (Grade 6-8)
   1. Understands how eating properly can help to reduce health risks (in terms of anemia, dental health, osteoporosis, heart disease, cancer, malnutrition)
   2. Knows appropriate methods to maintain, lose, or gain weight according to individual needs and scientific research
   3. Knows eating disorders that affect health adversely (e.g., anorexia, overeating, bulimia)
   4. Knows the principles of food safety involved with food storage and preparation (e.g., proper refrigeration, hand washing, proper cooking and storage temperatures)
  Level IV (Grade 9-12)
   1. Understands how nutrient and energy needs vary in relation to gender, activity level, and stage of life cycle
   2. Understands the reliability and validity of various sources of food and nutrition information (e.g., dietary supplements, diet aids, fad diets, food labels)
   3. Understands the role of food additives and their relationship to health